business question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• business question

I have a business questions. As I am just starting out I am trying to accumulate prints for my portfolio. When I purchase prints from my lab ( no tax paid) How do account for that. Because I am not turning around and selling the prints to a customer. Do I pay for the sales tax on the cost of the prints personally.
    I hope this makes sense. Just want to make sure I am doing the right thing.
    Thanks
    Kelly

Lab costs are lab costs. Mine go in a category call outside services.

They are deducted and I don't pay taxes.

Check you local laws. A good CPA will help.

Comment

PS Good job for trying to do the right thing and keep up with the very tough tax laws.

Comment

Originally posted by Kelly Patterson
        I have a business questions. As I am just starting out I am trying to accumulate prints for my portfolio. When I purchase prints from my lab ( no tax paid) How do account for that. Because I am not turning around and selling the prints to a customer. Do I pay for the sales tax on the cost of the prints personally.
        I hope this makes sense. Just want to make sure I am doing the right thing.
        Thanks
        Kelly
        Kelly,

First of all, you should not PAY taxes on any of the raw materials (prints) that are used in production of a finished product (portrait). You would COLLECT taxes on the retail sale (to your client) of the finished portrait. You go about not paying taxes by having a sales tax certificate on file with your vendors (labs, frame suppliers, etc.)

Since your portfolio will be used for promotion (and not sold to a client), no taxes would be paid and you would account for the cost as an expense, under the account set up for advertising. All accounting 101.

Burke

Comment

portfolio prints count as "advertising/marketing"

for lots more business info contact STUDIO MANAGEMENT SERVICES (sms) through PPA.